Until 1862 a row of nine Tudor style houses stood to the left of the Market House in the space now occupied by the wide road in front of Costa Coffee, WHSmith etc. They were demolished as part of the works carried out under the second Ross Improvement Act (1863) to improve access through the town. Now you can see these properties again, as they stood in 1851.
Background to Underhill
These four supporting films, created by children from Ross primary schools, tell the story of Underhill from the point-of-view of some of the people who lived there in 1851. The folks really did exist (we know that from the 1851 census, most of the content is made up but based on historically accurate information about the town.
The Boot Maker’s Tale
The Landlord’s Tale
The Maltster’s Tale
The Nailer’s Tale
The making of Underhill
The artwork for this exhibit has been created by Jaime Etherington
Jaime Etherington is a local artist who specialises in local landscapes in oil.
Jaime spends many hours exploring the footpaths, rivers and hills waiting for the moment when the view combines with the perfect light and atmosphere. He blends his passion for drawing with his love for the outdoors to produce vibrant paintings of Herefordshire and Wales.
Over the last few years he has also been producing work for the Museum Without Walls in Ross-on-Wye.